Recital Series: István Várdai

“István Várdai is a special kind of genius… with perfect intonation, ample interpretation, impeccable tempo — in short, he is an incredible virtuoso.”

Thought to be some of the most beautiful and important compositions ever written for cello, Bach’s suites for unaccompanied cello are a collection of dances, each prefaced by a searching prelude. Cellist István Várdai makes his North American recital debut in a survey of these lauded works, from the open serenity of the G major to the powerful radiance of the D major, known as a “symphony for solo cello.”

All-Bach Program
Cello Suite No.1 in G Major, BWV 1007
Cello Suite No.5 in C Minor, BWV 1011
Cello Suite No.6 in D Major, BWV 1012

The Recital Series is supported in part by a generous grant from Gwen Norton on behalf of the IKBS and The Reed Foundation, and with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Photo: Balazs Borocz

Return to Arts at the Armory Listing  

buy tickets!

Wednesday, May 21 at 8:00pm
Thursday, May 22 at 8:00pm
Board of Officers Room

Other ways to buy:
Phone M-F 10am - 6pm (212) 933-5812

2014 Season Sponsors: